Center Names New Advisory Board Members

In September, the Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media named 13 members to our External Advisory Board and announced a plan to crowdsource the remaining positions.

We knew we wanted diverse perspectives and backgrounds on the board, and we felt crowdsourcing and using social media tools to aid the search would help us get the broadest input in candidate recruitment and identifying those diverse perspectives.

The response was overwhelming, with more than 120 candidates nominated or applying for what we had planned to be a dozen positions. With so many good candidates, the selection process for new members was difficult.

We decided to expand the board from 25 members to 30 members because we felt that would still give us a workable group size on the occasions when we have face-to-face meetings while enabling us to add five more candidates.

Still, there were many strong candidates who weren't selected, and we hope to find ways to use social media tools to enable participation by and contributions from all those who applied.

With that said, we're pleased to name these 17 individuals today as new advisory board members for the Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media. See their bios, along with the other 13 members', on the Advisory Board page.

  • Patricia F. Anderson
  • David W. Ballard, PsyD
  • Andre Blackman
  • Christopher Burgess
  • John Oliver DeLancey
  • Matt Katz, MD
  • Howard Luks, MD
  • Bertalan Mesko, MD
  • Egbe Osifo-Dawodu, MD
  • Mark Ryan, MD
  • Christian Sinclair, MD
  • Hugh Stephens
  • Wendy Sue Swanson, MD, FAAP
  • Joni Watson
  • Bob West, PhD
  • Mary Pat Whaley, FACMPE
  • Kelly Young
Choose a message to share 
The Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media expands its External Advisory Board.
Meet the 17 new advisory board members for the Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media.
Meet the latest members of the Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media External Advisory Board.

Please sign in or register to post a reply.